of academic rituals and traditions

It’s funny the habits we develop. They quickly turn into little rights of passage, for example: I tend to arrive 2-3 hours before an exam, read over my notes in the car quietly near the venue listening to music. It’s a kind of calming reorienting that I do before I enter the venue and promptly forget everything I have ever read in the world ever and proceed to do words gooder even?!

There is the tradition I began in my first semester where I get a tiny bottle of bubbly, you know the kind just for one, and have a sip at the venue after my last exam. Again on exams I take all my pencils and pens and everything on my desk and arrange it so that it is in straight lines.

I begin assignments in the first week and add to them weekly building them as my knowledge builds. I then read the entire thing outloud to myself and listen to how it flows and sounds.

I tend to avoid certain foods when I have midterm tests coming up, things like carbs and spicy foods, because they cause heartburn. I drink a lot of coffee, though probably not ‘too much’, I mean what even is “too much coffee”?

Of academic rituals and traditions by @owlslovepears | the Elegance of Economics

Of academic rituals and traditions by @owlslovepears | the Elegance of Economics

But last Friday in celebration of receiving all HD’s for semester 2, 2015 I began what will fast become my greatest and most loved tradition. Pre-girls-night dinner for one by the lake at sunset with dumplings and elderflower cordial and the magic of Ballarat happening before my eyes. ‘

Of academic rituals and traditions by @owlslovepears | the Elegance of Economics

Of academic rituals and traditions by @owlslovepears | the Elegance of Economics

I’m an import from a town on the Mornington Peninsula and have fast found my feet and my home here in Ballafornia! This place is everything I love in a city and more and with every passing month something new and exciting happens or begins and I fall deeper in love.

Of academic rituals and traditions by @owlslovepears | the Elegance of Economics

The lake is one of my favourite places to go along with Vic Park and with the weather fining up there will be many more picnic celebrations by the lake, I mean, tomorrow I’m going to ride my bike so that deserves congratulations dumplings for sure, right?

-Cate

So... thoughts?

