An afternoon tea

There has been a lot of activity in Ballarat this weekend and I have had such a wonderful time hanging around the lake over the past two days, even have the sunburnt shoulders to prove it.

I had spent the morning wandering around the Springfest stalls at Lake Wendouree with hundreds of others. Apart from the occasional rogue child cutting in front and the odd slow walker it was really pleasing wandering from stall to stall. Our group were in love with the strawberry van that sold strawberries in various ways including milkshakes, mousse and au natural. I, on the other hand, was more interested in sourcing a specific cup of coffee and was determined to find the stand I had yesterday at the Dragonboat competition (post to come). The shiniest of coffees came from The Gypsy’s Lunchbox, they have the cutest coffee cups you’ll ever see and the staff are all super friendly.

So after my success at finding my caffeine jolt and almost too long in the sun for my sunburnt shoulders to bear I headed home and decided to work on some lunch, though it was closer to afternoon tea. I stopped in at the local grocers to pick up some ingredients on the way home and in just a few minutes I made myself a delicious little protein hit.

Onion, Mushroom & Bacon (optional) frittata from @Owlslovepears | The Elegance of Economics

I’m not able to eat large portions so this recipe makes enough for 3 meals for me, but could also be a lovely share for two.

Recipe
1 onion sliced
3 large button mushrooms finely chopped
2 eye-rashers free range bacon (optional)
3 medium eggs beaten
crumble of blue cheese

Onion, Mushroom & Bacon (optional) frittata from @Owlslovepears | The Elegance of Economics

Method
Saute the onions in a frying pan, only don’t use oil, use water… trust me. On a very low heat cook the onions and once they start to stick, add a few tablespoons of water to the pan. It will dissolve, but will soften the onions and loosen the flavour from the bottom of the pan. Repeat the addition of water until the onions are very soft and quite dark.

Once your onions are very soft, add the mushrooms and reduce to a low heat and simmer covered until all are soft and combined. If you are not making a vegetarian version of this dish then cook the bacon in strips until golden.

Combine the onion and mushroom mixture with the egg (and the bacon) and add to an ovenproof dish. Bake in the oven until the egg is set and serve immediately, garnishing with the blue cheese.

Onion, Mushroom & Bacon (optional) frittata from @Owlslovepears | The Elegance of Economics

This is a delicious dish and is something that I will be making again and serving at an afternoon tea with friends on a bike ride in the weeks to come. I’m thinking that an addition of fruit might work also and will let you know how this goes.

I’m now off to continue bingewatching Miss Fisher, my newest detective crush, and have a cup of tea.

Hope you’ve also had a great weekend, did you get down to the Dragonboat races on Saturday or Springfest today?

So... thoughts?

